Indian Cricket League (ICL)

Indian Cricket League or ICL become a hot topic in cricket these days. So I am writting about this tournament. I collected the resources from various sites.

The Indian Cricket League (ICL) is a private cricket league that runs parallel to the existing cricket league managed by BCCI. Twenty20 matches are played in ICL .

Tau Devi Lal stadium in Panchkula, near Chandigarh, India is hosting the ICL for the 2007 season. The stadium has a capacity of 20,000 and the ICL plans to lease the stadium for 10 years.


Zee Telefilms  bid for the telecast rights of the biggest international cricket event – 2003 World Cup. Although the highest bid, it was unsuccessful. Subhash Chandra again bid for telecast rights again in 2004 and ended up in an inconclusive court battle. Last March, he bid again for the 2006-10 rights and once again lost. His response: the ICL. “


Then Zee Telefilms announced that it would be partner with infrastructure major IL&FS to create a new ambitious cricket league, Indian Cricket League (ICL). This league will have a prize money of $ 1 million for the winner.


ICL was set up with a Rs. 100 crore (Rs. 1 billion) corpus, and would initially comprise six teams to be expanded to 16 in three years. This will make ICL the richest professional league in the country with an annual prize of $1 million (Rs. 4.4 crore). 


Each team will be coached by a former player and will comprise four international, two Indian and eight budding domestic players. Essel Group is also planning to set up cricket academies all over the country. BCCI has been assured that it is free to draw from ICL’stalent pool. The league became active in November 2007.

Current Six teams of private clubs of ICL are:

  • Mumbai Champs
  • Chennai Superstars
  • Chandigarh Lions
  • Hyderabad Heroes
  • Kolkata Tigers
  • Delhi Jets

ICL has received support from unexpected quarters. There was a fear that lack of infrastructure, like the cricket stadiums, might limit the success of the operation of the league because BCCI didn’t like and support this and they told they will ban the players who will play in the ICL. But, support from various government bodies has boosted the league. Indian Railways chief Lalu Prasad has shown his backing by opening all the cricket stadiums controlled by the Indian Railways to the league.

You can see this ICL live from Zee Sports.

Most professional cricket around the world is run by the national cricket boards of the full members of the ICC, but there have been several previous attempts to create professional leagues outside the established system. Like the ICL, each of them came into conflict with the establishment:

  • World Series Cricket was formed by Australian media tycoon Kerry Packer in the late 1970s, and played a major role in the commercialisation of cricket.
  • Pro Cricket League in USA formed by Kalpesh Patel. It started with eight teams on 2 July 2004 and expired the same year.[20]
  • Indian Cricket League, US formed in 2005 by PayAutoMata Group in FL, US.
  • Stanford 20/20 formed in 2006 by billionaire Sir Allen Stanford in the West Indies.


Teams Roster


Home GroundTau Devi Lal Stadium, Panchkula


Coach – Michael Bevan

  • Stuart Law (Australia)
  • Ian Harvey (Australia)
  • V. Devendran (Chennai)
  • R. Sathish (Chennai)
  • Hemang Badani (Chennai)
  • Chris Read (England)
  • Tamil Kumaran (Chennai)
  • Hemant Kumar (Chennai)
  • Russel Arnold (Sri Lanka)
  • Sriram Sridharan (Chennai)
  • Syed Mohammed (Chennai)
  • Shabbir Ahmed (Pakistan)
  • Thiru Kumaran (Chennai)
  • J. Hareish (Chennai)
  • Vasanth Sarvanan (Tamil Nadu)
  • R. Jesuraj (Tamil Nadu)
  • Sanjeev Martin
  • G. Vignesh (Chennai)
  • P. Vivek




Coach – Moin Khan

  • Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan)
  • Satya Sakadi (AM – ADP, Vice Captain)
  • Anirudh Singh (Hyderabad)
  • Ambati Rayudu (Hyderabad)
  • Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan)
  • Azhar Mahmood (Pakistan)
  • Syed Shahubuddin (Hyderabad)
  • Chris Harris (New Zealand)
  • Nicky Boje (South Africa)
  • Stuart Binny (Karnataka)
  • Inder Shekhar Reddy (Hyderabad)
  • Vinay Kumar (Hyderabad)
  • Ibrahim Khaleel (Hyderabad)
  • Kaushik Reddy (Hyderabad)
  • Bheema Rao
  • Alfred Absolom (Hyderabad)
  • Shashank Nag (Hyderabad)
  • P.S. Niranjan (Hyderabad)
  • Baburao Yadav
  • Zakaria Zuffri (Assam/Railways)




Coach – Darryl Cullinan

  • Craig McMillan (New Zealand)
  • Parviz Aziz (Assam)
  • Darren Maddy (England)
  • Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (Kolkata)
  • Lance Klusener (South Africa)
  • Rohan Gavaskar (Bengal)
  • Upul Chandana (Sri Lanka)
  • Deep Dasgupta (Bengal)
  • Abu Nechim (Assam)
  • Shiv Sagar Singh (Bengal)
  • Boyd Rankin (Ireland)
  • Mihir Diwakar (Jharkhand)
  • Rajiv Kumar (Kolkata)
  • Sayed Akhlakh Ahmed (Kolkata)
  • Subhomoy Das (Kolkata)
  • Sujay Tarafdar (Assam)
  • Pritam Das (Assam)
  • Anshu Jain
  • Ali H. Zaidi
  • Pankaj Tuli




Coach – Madan Lal

  • Marvan Atapattu (Sri Lanka)
  • Niall O’Brien (Ireland)
  • Mohnish Mishra (Madhya Pradesh)
  • Taufeeq Umar (Pakistan)
  • Abbas Ali (Madhya Pradesh)
  • Paul Nixon (England)
  • Dale Benkenstein (South Africa)
  • J.P. Yadav (Railways)
  • Ali Murtaza (Uttar Pradesh)
  • T. Sudhindra (Madhya Pradesh)
  • Abid Nabi Ahanger (Jammu and Kashmir)
  • Sachin Dholpure (Madhya Pradesh)
  • Abhishek Tamrakar (Madhya Pradesh)
  • Shalabh Srivastav (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Abhishek Sharma (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Dishant Yagnik (Udaipur)
  • Dhruv Mahajan (Jammu and Kashmir)
  • Abhinav Bali
  • Raghav Sachdev




Coach – Sandip Patil

  • Brian Lara (West Indies)
  • Vikram Solanki (England)
  • Robin Morris (Mumbai)
  • Nathan Astle (New Zealand)
  • Kiran Powar (Mumbai)
  • Shreyas Khanolkar (Mumbai)
  • J. Van der Wath (South Africa)
  • Rakesh Patel (Gujarat)
  • Avinash Yadav (Mumbai)
  • Mervin Dillon (West Indies)
  • Subhojit Paul (Kolkata)
  • Dheeraj Jadhav (Pune)
  • Anupam Sanklecha (Mumbai)
  • Ranjeet Kirid (Pune)
  • Pushkaraj Joshi (Pune)
  • Suyash Burkul (Maharashtra)
  • Raviraj Patil (Maharashtra)
  • Nikhil Mandale (Mumbai)
  • Sridher Iyer




Home Ground – Tau Devi Lal Stadium, Panchkula, Chandigarh
Coach – Balwinder Sandhu

  • Chris Cairns (New Zealand)
  • Sarabjeet Singh (Punjab)
  • Imran Farhat (Pakistan)
  • Dinesh Mongia (Punjab)
  • Hamish Marshall (New Zealand)
  • T.P. Singh (Punjab)
  • Andrew Hall (South Africa)
  • Reetinder Singh Sodhi (Punjab)
  • Rajesh Sharma (Punjab)
  • Ishan Malhotra (Punjab)
  • Daryl Tuffey (New Zealand)
  • Sumit Kalia (Punjab)
  • Chetan Sharma (Punjab)
  • Manish Sharma (Punjab)
  • Love Ablish (Punjab)
  • Bipul Sharma (Punjab)
  • Karanveer Singh (Punjab)
  • Amit Uniyal (Punjab)
  • Gaurav Gupta (Jammu and Kashmir)
  • Harpreet Singh (Punjab)



1 Comment

  1. I am supporting Kolkata Tigers.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s